Three Tucson Roadrunners selected as AHL All-Stars - KVOA | KVOA.com | Tucson, Arizona

Three Tucson Roadrunners selected as AHL All-Stars

Posted: Updated:

TUCSON – The American Hockey League announced Thursday that Tucson Roadrunners forwards Nick Merkley and Dylan Strome have been named to the 2018 AHL All-Star Classic.

Merkley and Strome will join head coach Mike Van Ryn, who was tabbed to represent the Pacific Division after the Roadrunners concluded the calendar year with the top record among the eight teams. Van Ryn is the first Roadrunners coach to represent the organization at the event, while Merkley and Strome become the fourth and fifth player representatives. 

Brendan Perlini, Christian Fischer and Kyle Wood were selected as representatives for the 2017 AHL All-Star Classic.

The 5-foot-11, 192-pound Merkley (20) has recorded 15 goals and 15 assists for a total of 30 points in 24 games with Tucson this season. A native of Calgary, Alberta, the first round selection (#30 overall) of the Coyotes in 2015 earned his first National Hockey League recall on December 16 and made his debut with the team on December 19.

The 6-foot-3, 185-pound Strome (20) has registered 11 goals and 19 assists for a total of 30 points in 19 games with Tucson this season.  Hailing from Mississauga, Ontario, the #3 overall selection in the 2015 draft also played in 11 games with the Coyotes in 2017, recording his first NHL goal on December 2.

The 2018 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino will take place January 28-29 at the newly renovated Adirondack Bank Center at the Utica Memorial Auditorium in downtown Utica, NY.

Interactive Radar
Powered by Frankly

© KVOA.com 2018, KVOA.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?