Anu Solomon & Paul Magloire Jr. receive national football honors - KVOA | KVOA.com | Tucson, Arizona

Anu Solomon & Paul Magloire Jr. receive national football honors with U of A football season set to start Sept. 3

Posted: Updated:

University of Arizona football players Anu Solomon and Paul Magloire Jr. were named to the watch lists for the annual Maxwell Award and annual Chuck Bednarik Award this week.

Entering his junior year at the quarterback position, Solomon is listed on the watch list of The Maxwell Award for the first time in his career, an award that has been given to America’s College Football Player of the Year since 1937. In two seasons at Arizona, Solomon has thrown for over 6,400 yards while compiling 48 touchdowns, which places him in fourth and third in those categories in school history, currently.

Senior linebacker/safety Magloire Jr. has been listed to the watch list for The Bednarik Award, which is awarded to the College Defensive Player of the Year, an award that’s been presented since 1995.  In his first season at Arizona last fall, Magloire Jr. compiled 72 tackles, ranking second on the team, as well as leading the team with 54 solo tackles. Maglorie Jr. played both linebacker and safety positions throughout the past season, starting in eight of the 13 games.

Arizona’s first recipient of The Bednarik Award was in 2014, awarding Scooby Wright III as America’s best defensive player in that year.

The Wildcats will begin the season on the 3rd of September against the BYU Cougars at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

Powered by Frankly

© KVOA.com 2018, KVOA.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?