Apr 3, 2014 6:05 PM by KVOA Sports

McDermott, Marshall win AP college hoops awards

ARLINGTON, TX - Creighton's Doug McDermott and Wichita State's Gregg Marshall have been selected as the Associated Press Player and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Marshall led the Shockers to a number one seed in the NCAA Tournament with a 34-0 record. They became the first team in NCAA men's history to post a 35-0 record before losing to Kentucky in the third round of the NCAA Tournament. Marshall and the Shockers were in the Final Four a year ago.

Marshall received 44 votes from the 65 available. Virginia's Tony Bennett had 13, Billy Donovan of Florida earned six, while John Beilein of Michigan and Larry Brown of SMU each received a vote.

McDermott leaves Creighton as the number five scorer in NCAA history. A three-time All-American, McDermott led the country in scoring at 26.7 points per game. He received 64 of the 65 votes for the honor. Louisville's Russ Smith received the other.

The Final Four tips off this Saturday, beginning with Florida and Connecticut at 3:09pm. Kentucky and Wisconsin will follow suit at 5:49pm. The winners will meet in the NCAA Championship on Monday night.


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4