Aug 20, 2014 2:27 PM by Faye DeHoff

Gov. Brewer names members of State Energy Advisory Board

PHOENIX - Members have been appointed to the new State Energy Advisory Board by Governor Jan Brewer, including some from the Tucson area.

Established as part of the governor's 2014 Executive Order adopting the state's Master Energy Plan, emPOWER Arizona, the new permanent Board is comprised of public and private sector energy experts charged with carrying out the governor's policy energy goals and helping to ensure the long-term affordability, reliability and security of Arizona's energy industry.

"I am proud to appoint Arizona's first State Energy Advisory Board, which will bring together public and private sector industry experts to shape the discussion of our energy future," said Governor Brewer. "I am confident that - under the leadership of Director Leisa Brug - the Board will work collaboratively and ardently to help position Arizona as a global leader in energy development and ensure the industry's long-term sustainability in our state."

Pursuant to the governor's Order, the State Energy Advisory Board will facilitate timely, on-going discussions about energy status, outlooks, technology developments and issues, as well as consider updates to emPOWER Arizona. Additionally, members will make recommendations regarding energy issues for the Governor of Arizona and provide suggested content updates to the Master Energy Plan as needed.

Appointed to the panel are 15 of the state's leading experts on energy. Leisa Brug, the Governor's Director of Energy Policy and Policy Advisor on Energy, will serve as the governor's designee and act as chairman of the board. The board will also utilize the expertise of outside experts and stakeholders though public testimony and working groups.

Members of the State Energy Advisory Board include:

· Leisa Brug, Governor's Office of Energy Policy, Director
· Bob Burns, Arizona Corporation Commission, Commissioner
· Bob Worsley, Arizona State Senate, Senator
· Patrick Quinn, Residential Utility Consumers Office, Director
· David Hutchens, Tucson Electric Power, CEO
· Michael Lacey, Arizona Department of Water Resources, Director
· Creden Huber, Sulphur Springs Valley Electric Cooperative, CEO
· John Halikowski, Arizona Department of Transportation, Director
· Gary Dirks, Arizona State University, Director GIOS and Lightworks
· Don Brandt, Arizona Public Service, CEO
· Mark Bonsall, Salt River Project, CEO
· Jim Hughes, First Solar, CEO
· Vanessa Hickman, Arizona State Lands, Commissioner
· Jose Esparza, Southwest Gas, VP of Energy Solutions
· Henry Darwin, Arizona Department of Environmental Quality, Director


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4